Hello, I'm Peter Topping and here's a bit more about me ...


My family have lived in or near Cambridge since we came back from Hong Kong in the 1980s. I have worked in the private sector, but mainly in public service; advising Home Office ministers on criminal law policy in the 1990s, then as Regional Director for Legal Aid for the East of England between 1996-2002, and then running and reviewing major government programmes across Whitehall.

Hanley Grange stall 0608.jpg

I joined my parish council in Whittlesford in 2006 and decided to stand as district councillor in 2008 when the area was fighting off a major land grab for 12,000 houses.

I was successful and have been re-elected three more times, most recently in May 2018 with 63% of the vote.

In 2013 I was elected as the County Councillor for the ten villages round Duxford and in 2017 I was re-elected.

I represent the villages of Pampisford, Hinxton, Duxford, Ickleton, Whittlesford, Thriplow, Foxton, Fowlmere, Shepreth, Newton, Great and Little Chishill and Heydon. It is a huge geographic area, incorporating two rail lines and two major roads, the A505 and  the A10.  I serve on the planning committee at South Cambs District Council and I chair the County Council Health and Wellbeing Board.

In the past I've been a school governor (twice), a hospital governor, advised national charities Victim Support and the Citizenship Foundation on their communications, and served on the board of Centre 33, a Cambridge charity helping young people. 

My wife works in the NHS, and my two boys, who were born in Huntingdon and went to school in and around Cambridge, are now grown up and live and work in London.

I left the Senior Civil Service about 18 months ago though I still do some consultancy work for government departments.

Further back, I was born in the Yemen, in the Middle East, where my father worked for BP as an engineer.  I went to school out there and then in very cold and rainy Lancashire. I was a scholar at Oxford, where I studied English, and I have a Masters in Criminology from Cambridge. My first two jobs were as an inspector in the Royal Hong Kong Police and a crime reporter for the South China Morning Post. 


My main sport is rowing, returned to after a gap of some 25 years (!) and I also run and cycle. If you follow me on twitter you can also see pictures of my baking exploits and other culinary activities!